Harold Sternbeck Medal Winner Announced

31st May 2019

FMA Communications Director Sue Ribbons is delighted to announce the winner of the 2019 Harold Sternbeck Medal:

The prestigious Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded at the FMA Annual Conference each year to recognise excellence for the best paper presentation at the conference. Both 10 minute and 25 minute presentations are included. This year there were a total of 87 papers.

The Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded in recognition of Harold Sternbeck's contribution to the FMA. Harold was a former Chairman of the FMA and the FMA’s first Life Member. He was a fierce negotiator on all things flood related, especially the politics of funding allocations.

Once again, the calibre of paper presentations at the Conference was very high. Many people commented how the standard of presentations continues to improve each year.

The winner of the 2019 Harold Sternbeck Medal is:

Chris Gooch (City of Parramatta Council, NSW) - 'FloodSmart Parramatta: A Total Flash Flood Warning Service'.

With so many great paper presentations, it has been decided to also award two Highly Commended Awards (in alphabetical order by name):

Kara Agllias (Royal HaskoningDHV, NSW) - 'Mainstream Technology Trends - Identifying New Vulnerabilities and Opportunities in Flood Emergency Management'

Philip Conway (IAG Natural Perils) - Regional Sensitivity of Flood Risk to Climate Drivers.

Also for the record the following paper presentations were also ranked very highly (in alphabetical order by name):

Rebecca Lett (Dept of Environment Land Water and Planning, VIC) - 'Estimating Peak Design Flows Under Climate Change Incorporating Increased Rainfall Intensities and Drier Antecedent Conditions'

Shannon McGuire (Ethos Urban) and Carrie Dearnley (BMT, QLD) - 'Risk-based Land Use Planning: Evolving from the Q100 Quagmire'

Monishaa Prasad (Rockhampton Regional Council, QLD) - 'Taking a Cue from Nature: Holistic Floodplain Management in Rockhampton'

Chris Thomas (Advisian, NSW) - 'Shelter in Place - are we in a Policy Vacuum?'

Rhys Thomson (Rhelm, NSW) - 'A Penny for Your Flood – Quantifying the Impact'.

The Harold Sternbeck Medal is not awarded lightly, and in some years has not been awarded at all. 

Congratulations again to Chris Gooch! His Medal-winning paper is available on the Harold Sternbeck Medal page.

<< Previous | Next >>