2018 Harold Sternbeck Winner Announced

1st July 2018

The prestigious Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded at the FMA Annual Conference each year to recognize excellence for the best paper presentation at the conference.
Both 10 minute and 25 minute presentations are included. This year there was a total of 89 papers.
The Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded in recognition of Harold Sternbeck's contribution to FMA.
Harold was a former Chairman of FMA and FMA’s first Life Member.
He was a fierce negotiator on all things flood related, especially the politics of funding allocations.
Once again, the calibre of paper presentations at the conference was very high.
The winner of the 2018 Harold Sternbeck Medal is Michael McMahon (HDR Engineering) for his paper entitled ‘Harvey, Irma, Maria, Debbie, Marcia and Yasi: A Dysfunctional Cyclone Family'.
With so many great paper presentations, it has been decided to also award a Highly Commended Award:
Rhys Thomson (Rhelm) for his paper entitled ‘Show me the Money! - Economic Analysis in Floodplain Management'.
Rhys will provide an abridged version of his presentation at the NSW/ACT Chapter Meeting in Sydney on 16 August.
You can read the winning papers in the Members’ Section.
Have you sent through your finished Conference paper yet?
We are still waiting on a number of papers from this year’s presenters, so contact us now.

<< Previous | Next >>