2017 Harold Sternbeck Medal Winner Announced

1st August 2017

Dr Raymond Laine (Professional FMA Member), founder of Tasmanian firm Ozengage, is the winner of the 2017 Harold Sternbeck Medal for his presentation "Bring the Marshmallows: New Engagement Technologies Stoking Flood Conversations".
FMA Communications Director Sue Ribbons, who is responsible for overseeing the judging of the Medal, said "It is incredibly pleasing to see presentations of such great quality, especially from FMA Members."
"Once again the calibre of presentations was very high and it has been decided to also award two Highly Commended Awards" said Ms Ribbons.
The Highly Commended presentations:
  • Sarah U'Brien (Dungog Shire Community Centre) - Dungog 2015 Floods: A case study of community led recovery
  • Grantley Smith (UNSW Water Research Laboratory) - Vehicle stability testing for flood flows
The Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded for the best paper presentation which demonstrated excellence of the highest order.  The Medal is not awarded lightly, and in some cases, no winner has been announced that year.
Harold Sternbeck was a member of the FMA Executive from 1972 to 2009. Harold was elected Chairman from 1991 to 1999, and Deputy Chairman from 2003 to 2004.
Harold received the first Life Membership of FMA in 2005, and he  continued to contribute to local, state and national floodplain management issues until shortly before his passing in 2010.
In 2000, in recognition of Harold’s extensive service to FMA and his  prowess as a persuasive public speaker, FMA established the  Harold Sternbeck Medal to be presented at the Annual FMA Conference. 
A formal Medal presentation will be made at the upcoming NSW/ACT Chapter Meeting in Sydney on 17 August.
You can view past winners' presentations/papers at the Harold Sternbeck Medal page.

<< Previous | Next >>