Winner of 2016 Harold Sternbeck Medal Announced

24th May 2016

The prestigious Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded at the FMA Annual Conference each year to recognise excellence for the best paper presentation at the Conference. Both 10 minute and 25 minute presentations are included. This year there were a total of 65 papers.
The Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded in recognition of Harold Sternbeck contribution to the FMA. Harold was a much revered former Chairman of the FMA and the FMA’s first Life Member. He was a fierce negotiator on all things flood related, especially the politics of funding allocations.
Once again, the calibre of paper presentations at the Conference was very high. The winner of the 2016 Harold Sternbeck Medal is awarded to:
  • Allan Gear (formerly of The Hills Shire Council) for his paper entitled ‘Of Doubts and Flooded Drains: the artistry in defining an overland flowpath’.
With so many great paper presentations, it has been decided to also award two Highly Commended Awards:
  • Andrew Gissing (Risk Frontiers) for his paper entitled ‘An Analysis of Human Fatalities from Flood Hazards in Australia 1900-2014’.
  • Thelma Marr (Shoalhaven City Council) and Stephen Yeo (Flood Focus Consulting) for their paper entitled ‘Plans Schmans? How Caravan Parks Responded to the August 2015 Sussex Inlet and Conjola Lake Floods’.
The 2016 Harold Sternbeck Medal and Highly Commended Awards will presented formally at the next FMA Quarterly Meeting in August.

<< Previous | Next >>