New Australian Warning System

1st February 2021

The federal Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud has announced a new Australian Warning System which for the first time provides a national approach to warnings for hazards including flood, bushfire, storm, cyclone, extreme heat and severe weather.

The new system delivers on the recommendations of the Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements.

The system uses a nationally consistent set of icons to show incidents on websites and apps, supported by calls to action. The three warning levels are:

  • Advice (Yellow)
    An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.
  • Watch and Act (Orange)
    There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect you and your family.
  • Emergency Warning (Red)
    An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.

“Now that summer has started and the disaster season is upon us, this new system will make it easier for people to recognise and understand emergency warnings wherever they are in Australia,” Minister Littleproud said.

“The new warnings have come into effect for bushfires in all jurisdictions except for Western Australia, which will adopt it in the near future.

“Warnings for other hazards such as floods, cyclones and heatwaves will be phased in over time.”

Further information on the Australian Warning System can be found at the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience? website.??


<< Previous | Next >>